24
Oct
07

Randy Lee “Soakin’ With Tears”

I tried briefly to look something up about this guy, found nothing, and that’s okay– I’ll just let his legend– based on this 1974 record– reign on its own terms. He wrote all or most of the songs and is backed up by some pretty big name Nashville session musicians, so I get the impression that he’s a songwriter, and a pretty good one. He also has a voice that could melt: granite; the cold heart of America; and 33 years of popular music being ruined by every force imaginable. OF COURSE I couldn’t find Randy Lee on the internet– he’s probably dead, or at least knows better. I was just fooled because this record is so “now.” When is it Randy Lee day at my house? EVERY DAY I play this record is Randy Lee day!!!

First there is the cover, a full face portrait of who we will presume to be Randy Lee– though it looks like a woman in drag with a black wig and Peter Fonda Easy Rider sunglasses, and lots of leather. The picture is taken in front of what looks like a wall of nasty green carpet– either soundproofing the wall of a studio, or perhaps Mr. Lee is LYING on the FLOOR of some Nashville outskirts dive motel, most likely passed out with a bottle JD nearby.

The songs are all good, but none quite as, as the title song, and there is no experience quite like hearing it for the first time. It starts out with a pretty standard upbeat instrumental bit, complete with full horn section… and then the VOICE comes in: “Look up in the sky-aye-aye…” There is no way I can describe the impact of that first brutal introduction to Randy Lee’s radioactive, FBI’s Ten Most Wanted, Weapon of Mass Destruction VOICE, except to say, I STILL haven’t gotten up off the ground.


7 Responses to “Randy Lee “Soakin’ With Tears””


  1. November 26, 2007 at 8:07 am

    I know Randy Lee. I’ve heard Randy Lee. I’ve worked with Randy Lee. You’re no Randy Lee…

    • 2 LEEANNE WARD (Ashby)
      March 20, 2024 at 9:23 am

      did you really? If so I would love to talk with you. He’s my dad and died when I was 14. His actual name is Thomas Leland Ashby Jr. You can email me at skittle_dyed_freak@hotmail.com. my sister commented on here as well, you could also email her.

      • March 22, 2024 at 6:14 pm

        Hi Leeanne, thanks for your comment. Unfortunately I’m guessing that “Keith Stewart” – back in his 2007 comment was just joking – did not actually know Randy Lee. But anyway, perhaps someone who DID know him will see your message (finding this post the same way you did, I assume, searching the internet), and maybe they could email your or your sister. One nice thing is that this great “Soakin’ with Tears” LP is still out there, on the world’s most indestructible music format – vinyl record – and even though your father passed away years ago, future fans might find it.

  2. 4 E Freund
    April 13, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    Thanks man for this little review – i just saw this record at a bookstore, and am going to go back and pick it up based on your recommendation.

    cheers!
    vanzetti (edinburgh)

  3. June 20, 2009 at 5:53 pm

    I hope you found it satisfactory, i.e lost your mind!

  4. 6 Christy Crutcher
    July 19, 2012 at 10:12 pm

    Hey there, thought I’d let you know that he is my dad and yes he passed away due to cancer. I never really got to know him though due to personal family reasons. If anyone on here can share stories with me I’d love to hear them. My sister found our copyof the album that he gave my mom years ago. Please fill free to email me at christycrutcher@yahoo.com.


Leave a comment


You can type the name of the band you'd like to find in the box below and then hit "GO" and it will magically find all the posts about that band!!!

Blog Stats

  • 28,344 hits

a

Top Clicks

  • None
October 2007
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031