12
Nov
07

Little Feat “Dixie Chicken”

This is a band that I’m always kind of drawn to even though I hate them– or maybe I like them, but I’m constantly repulsed– I don’t know. Anyway, this 1973 album is the best one of theirs I’ve heard– it’s a pretty solid record. At first I was totally repulsed by the cover, by “Neon Park”, but the more I look at it, the more I like it. It looks like a folk art painting– it’s a woman with a really long accordion. It makes no sense.

The one thing I really like about this band is that no one overplays, and the one thing I don’t like about them is that the keyboard player, Bill Payne, overplays more and more. Not so much on this record, but you can hear it starting. I always think of Little Feat as Lowell George’s band– whether or not that is true, I don’t know– but I like his singing and I can sense his presence. He was a large man, I think, and he died fairly young.

My favorite songs on this record are “Dixie Chicken,” “Two Trains” (a good train song!), “Walkin’ All Night” (great bass part), “On Your Way Down,” “Fat Man In The Bathtub,” “Juliette,” and “Lafayette Railroad” (another good train song!) That’s two good train songs on one record! That must be some kind of a record!

0 Responses to “Little Feat “Dixie Chicken””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

You can type the name of the band you'd like to find in the box below and then hit "GO" and it will magically find all the posts about that band!!!

Blog Stats

  • 9,800 hits

a

Top Clicks

  • None
November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

