01
Nov
08

The Beatles “Magical Mystery Tour”

This record sounded fresher to me than the other two, just now, maybe because I’ve always avoided this one. There’s this fantastic song called “Penny Lane” that I’ve never heard before. I’m kidding. I think what I like about this record is my lasting admiration for a few of the songs. Maybe two. When I was a single digit kid, I had the single of “Hello, Goodbye” which I thought was the perfect dumb pop single–it’s almost frightening–and I still think so, pretty much. But then on the other side of that record was “I Am the Walrus” which completely intrigued me, and maybe was frightening in a different way. I admit, I still haven’t gotten over that “yellow matter custard” business. I imagine there are entire support groups for people who were traumatized by that phrase. It should surprise no one that there is a band called Yellow Matter Custard. But really, right now, I wish I didn’t know that. Sometimes the internet makes the world seem really, really small. But of course, that’s all an illusion. Because with all that information at your fingertips, it’s still impossible to know another person, really. It’s pretty much impossible to know yourself. The internet is just a hall of mirrors. I’m really hating the world, and myself, a little bit right about now. I mean, how many hours did I spend on this glorious morning looking at designer pot and glass pipes on slowly loading, clumsy web pages? The answer is: TOO MANY.

2 Responses to “The Beatles “Magical Mystery Tour””


  1. 1 Ryan Adams
    November 8, 2008 at 10:09 am

    You obviously just don’t like The Beatles because they are popular as well as being critically acclaimed. You don’t know where to go from there so you have to write “weird” stuff about them. Why don’t you just admit that they were a great band, and Lennon and McCartney were the greatest songwriting duo of all time. They, and The Beatles, revolutionized pop music, a you wouldn’t even be able to recognize it if it wasn’t for them. Without them, rock’n’roll might be seen as an insignificant fad, like flagpole sitting. I know I’m exaggerating, but really, it’s impossible to even imagine what the pop music, indeed the entire pop culture would be like if there was no Beatles.

  2. November 28, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    One thing I think about The Beatles is that they were the best band to do Lennon and McCartney songs. I really think it was the combination of those four lads, together, in that particular time, that made them so great. The combination of The Sixties, drugs, the fashion and style, and their entire media experimentation. A lot of the songs are good, and a couple are great, but I wouldn’t put them up there with Bob Dylan, Check Berry, Buddy Holly, or Brian Wilson, and certainly not even in the ballpark with the great pre-rock-era songwriters.

    One interesting thing to me is just how terrible Lennon McCartney songs come off on other people’s records. I mean, has ANYONE ever recorded a good one? They are embarrassing. Of course, that isn’t the fault of the song, totally, as it is the lack of understanding for the song by the artist recording it. Listen to some of Sinatra’s versions, for example. Yikes!


Leave a Reply

You can type the name of the band you'd like to find in the box below and then hit "GO" and it will magically find all the posts about that band!!!

Blog Stats

  • 10,245 hits

a

Top Clicks

  • None
November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

