27
Oct
08

The Beatles “Revolver”

When the question “Beatles or Rolling Stones” comes up, I say Rolling Stones without thinking, and I do admit to being an Anglophobe, though I happen to be smoking Samuel Gawith’s “Squadron Leader” RIGHT NOW. There is no way The Beatles could be anything but overrated, seeing how popular and critical opinion pretty much put them on top of every list of ALL MUSIC ever composed, played by human beings ever in recorded history. But still, I’m trying to be objective, listening to The Beatles with fresh, unbiased ears, hearing for the first time some songs that are among the most overplayed songs ever, ever, ever.

It’s impossible, of course. It’s impossible of course. I don’t even know why I’m trying. Without a doubt, “the white album” is my favorite Beatles record, and I’ll take it over everything else they recorded put together. I can still listen to it all the way through and get back that feeling I had when I first discovered it. I guess there is a nostalgia factor there, I’ll admit. There were drugs involved. But anyway, there is no white album in this collection. There is “Revolver,” which is a lot of people’s favorite, I am well aware. I can’t say I even come close to LIKING this record, though “She Said She Said” always sounds fresh to me when listening to it, though it quickly becomes stale in my mind. Pretty much all the rest of the songs sound stale even on my vintage 1970s equipment.

4 Responses to “The Beatles “Revolver””


  1. November 1, 2008 at 2:01 am

    UK version includes “Dr. Robert”, “I’m Only Sleeping”, and a third John Lennon song I can’t recall just now.

  2. November 1, 2008 at 2:05 am

    The third John Lennon song is the amazing “And Your Bird Can Sing”.

  3. December 10, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    hm.. I forgot about the American and Britis versions being different.. Is there anything on the US version that’s *not* on the UK version?

    I’m mostly familiar with the UK version, since my original US version, which my parents gave me for my 13th birthday, got melted in the trunk of their 1976 Pontiac on the way to Sun City Arizona, so I asked for the UK version for Xmas that year. I recently discovered that after 30 years wedged in between other albums on my record shelf, my US version is finally flat and playable again!

    Anyhow..

    I sometimes think that this is my favorite Beatles album, but there really are a bunch of songs on it that I can’t stand – like “Got To Get You Into My Life”, “For No-one”, “Here, There, and Everywhere” (though sometimes I *almost* kinda like that one..). I also kinda don’t like George’s “Love You To”, even though I usually like his kinda psychedelicky stuff. It just always kinda weirded me out and rubbed me the wrong way.

    Also, “Yellow Submarine” seems way out of place here. “Elanor Rigby” is ok, mostly I just like the sound of the string section on it.

    But the stuff that I like on it, I really like a LOT. “Taxman” has one of the coolest bass parts ever, and I like the sound of George’s voice on it, and the funny backup vocals. All 3 of the Lennon songs that Darius mentions above are really great too, all kinds of drug references and everything – trippy and cool. “Bird” is so bright and funny and full of really interesting guitar bits – just really nice.

    For a long time, “Tomorrow Never Knows” was one of my favorite songs of theirs — it still is really up there with me — I just love the droney repetitive loop of the groove, the way everything just sounds *totally* fucked up and psychedelic — I think it really still stands as probably *THE* most absolutely psychedelic song of all time, ever. I don’t think anything could ever more fully express what psychedelic music should sound like than that song – not even anything by the 13th Floor Elevators, who *invented* psychedelic music, or The Pink Floyd, who *lived* psychedelic music.

    But actually, my very favorite Beatles song of all time is “She Said, She Said”, which is also pretty psychedelic, but it also has a lot more going on for it besides: The weird time signatures going on in it; the sound of the drums, the piercing sound of the guitars weaving their way through it; All the vocals in it are just absolutely *perfect*..; the idea of the song, this conversation with a girl, probably both of them absolutely stoned out of their gourds, but even if they’re not – the whole thing is just so much like an actual conversation .. sorta.. I dunno.

    So — yeah, the great stuff on this album is among the best stuff they ever did, but it still has a lot of really bad ‘Paul’ stuff on it, and other less-than-great stuff.

    I think I would probably have to go along with the White Album as my favorite one too, now that I think about it..

  4. December 14, 2008 at 6:23 pm

    It has been interesting thinking really hard about The Beatles, I mean trying REALLY HARD to imagine I’ve never heard any of these songs. Some people say it can be done with drugs, but I don’t think so. You can destroy pretty much your WHOLE MIND and you’ll still remember songs. Anyway, somebody should make some kind of a movie where a guy arrives in a time machine or has something happen to his brain, or something, so he’ll be totally unfamiliar with the Beatles, and then through this character, we can ourselves hear the Beatles as if for the first time. I mean, it would be a challenge. To make that movie. Maybe it should be a book. And you can listen while reading. I don’t know. Has anyone ever made a movie out of the white album? If not, why not? I don’t know what kind of a movie. It’s already a movie, that album. I don’t know, EVEN, why I’m talking about movies. I don’t even go to movies anymore. Someone really needs to reinvent the fucking cinema, that’s what they need to do.


Leave a Reply

You can type the name of the band you'd like to find in the box below and then hit "GO" and it will magically find all the posts about that band!!!

Blog Stats

  • 10,245 hits

a

Top Clicks

  • None
October 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

