29
Mar
08

Mott the Hoople “The Hoople”

This record, which came out the next year after “Mott,” is more uneven, but there are some great songs on it, like “Alice,” and “Pearl ‘N’ Roy (England).” And my favorite, “Born Late ’58” which is memorable to me because it was the last song I remember hearing before passing out while drinking stolen gin, in my first major drinking black-out experience, age 14.

3 Responses to “Mott the Hoople “The Hoople””


  1. April 1, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    Odd thing about this album and MOTT is that I only ever knew about them in the 70s because my dad, of all people, had them! Anyway, this one I also mostly just liked the first side of, but I did listen to the second side too sometimes, if only mostly for the song “Roll Away The Stone”. It’s a pretty great album, it seems a bit more — I dunno, artsy or something, or maybe a little more decadent, than MOTT. The songs “Marionette” and “Crash Street Kids” always kinda weirded me out somehow, and the fact that “Alice” was so blatantly about a prostitute kinda weirded me out too. I didn’t know anything about this stuff, I was only like, what 10 or 11 or something!

    There’s an awful lot of good piano stuff on these Mott the Hoople records, isn’t there? A lot of the songs on this one really do rock out pretty well too. Man, I really dont’ know why I don’t know anyone else who likes this band! Are you going to review their “All The Young Dudes” album? I always loved that song, and their version of Sweet Jane, which was the only version I knew about for a long time, but I only ever got a copy of it within the last few years somehow.

  2. April 1, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    I feel like I should be too old or cool or something to still get a kick out of him singing that “Alice” song– “I wonder if she wonders if I wonder if she wonders…” etc. I mean he’s kind of going all out.

    I’m not going to write any more about “All The Young Dudes” because I don’t have it here, and I only really remember those two songs. I feel like I used to hate “All The Young Dudes” for some reason, but when I listened to it closely, and repeatedly, a few years ago, I changed how I felt and now think it’s my favorite or second favorite Mott the Hoople song (the reason more people don’t like this band is because they fell between the cracks between the more obvious 70’s stuff, and the really crappy 80’s stuff so many young people are nostalgic about. One person’s nostalgia trip is another person’s cruel and unusual torture!) Maybe David Bowie shouldn’t have given so many songs to other people, and saved them for when he got older and couldn’t write them anymore. But anyway, he seems to have given them to the right people.

  3. February 12, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    I was just looking at an old video of Mott the Hoople doing “Roll Away The Stone” on youtube, and I just hate it when people send me youtube links, so I feel like I can’t share it with anyone so I searched the internet for it and found you guys. It’s worth taking a look at if you’ve got a few minutes to kill (or hours, if you start watching ALL the Mott the Hoople stuff on youtube! There are some really fine backup singers in that version! And Ian Hunter actually takes off his sunglasses! Just kidding.


Leave a Reply

You can type the name of the band you'd like to find in the box below and then hit "GO" and it will magically find all the posts about that band!!!

Blog Stats

  • 9,800 hits

a

Top Clicks

  • None
March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

