29
Mar
08

Mott the Hoople “Mott”

I got this record when I was in 7th grade because Scott Suter said it was good, though I’m not sure why I trusted him after he said Gino Vannelli was good. Maybe the Gino Vannelli thing was later– I know I unfortunately owned a copy of “Gist of the Gemini” for WAY too long. Anyway, Scott Suter was cool, and recommended Mott the Hoople “Mott” so I bought it– and I was not disappointed. The picture on the cover is the guys in the band standing around in tight leather pants and open silk shirts next to a spotlight or something. It almost sounds like two different bands, one being Ian Hunter and the other the other guys, or Mick Ralphs, or I don’t know who had the influence– but it kind of comes across as competition at its best, in that all the songs are pretty strong, as well as over the top ambitious. I can listen to this whole album from beginning to end; I could then, and I can now.

I’m not even sure what my favorite songs are– maybe “I Wish I Was Your Mother” or maybe “Ballad of Mott the Hoople.”  And as  much as any of them,  “All The Way From Memphis” holds up really well. That happens to be the song that single-handedly made me like the movie “Breaking the Waves”– or maybe it was the only thing I liked about the movie. Or maybe it was what made me not like the movie– I just wanted to hear the whole song, rather than cutting back to the movie.

3 Responses to “Mott the Hoople “Mott””


  1. April 1, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    Oops, I reviewed this album on your overview of the whole band. It doesn’t help that the band is called MOTT THE HOOPLE, and that they released consecutive albums called MOTT and THE HOOPLE.. I’m listening to the second side of this album now, and yeah, it still doesn’t seem as strong to me as the first. If I had just gotten this as a cd, I would have been totally digging it, and then about halfway through I’d probably decide it just totally sucked and decided it wasn’t worth listening to anymore. One of the drawbacks of the one-sided cd format, I think..

    I’ve never seen “Breaking the Waves” but now I kind of don’t want to, since I don’t want some dumb movie ruining one of my favorite songs for me.. Something that Wes Anderson seems totally intent on doing, which is why I’ve decided to boycott his films. Sorry, I’ve completely gone off the topic here.. That’s because side 2 of MOTT just isn’t doing it for me still, sorry..

  2. April 1, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    The thing I like about Wes Anderson is how he’ll use longer pieces of songs, if not the whole song. But I suppose, if you’re not liking the movie, it’s going to be annoying regardless. The worst thing, though, which I don’t think Wes Anderson would do, is when someone edits a song in order to fit it to the visual– like they do with commercials. I mean cutting out the middle, or removing some part from the song. As if everyone who knows that song moderately well won’t be TOTALLY DRIVEN CRAZY by hearing that!

  3. April 2, 2008 at 5:29 am

    .. Like how they *always* cut out the reference to “liquor and drugs” every time they use Iggy Pop’s “Lust For Life” in a commercial!


Leave a Reply

You can type the name of the band you'd like to find in the box below and then hit "GO" and it will magically find all the posts about that band!!!

Blog Stats

  • 10,245 hits

a

Top Clicks

  • None
March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

