24
Aug
07

Elton John “Don’t Shoot Me I’m Only The Piano Player”

This one is from 1972 as well (and the next, “Yellow Brick Road” was 1973– he was really cranking out the songs! I wonder if anyone has compared Elton John to Ryan Adams?– probably). This album cover opens up to more color photos, plus there is a TWELVE PAGE, full color, album-sized booklet inside– with giant photos of Elton, Bernie Taupin, and the band. Can you imagine someone spending that much on presentation now? What is really hard to imagine is the royal treatment for a lyricist. That goes back to the old days of songwriters, but this has to be the last example of it in the rock’n’roll era. And for a second rate lyricist at that. Elton John must have been a good guy to be friends with!

This is a pretty nice record, though I’d prefer to never listen to “Daniel” ever again. Or “Crocodile Rock” –or  “Teacher I Need You” for that matter. But “Elderberry Wine” is a pretty great song. The rest of the songs, sadly, are kind of weak. I guess I could easily say good-bye to this record. I like the booklet the best (check out Elton in the aviator glasses!)– but what do you do with such a thing?

3 Responses to “Elton John “Don’t Shoot Me I’m Only The Piano Player””


  1. August 27, 2007 at 12:52 pm

    I had a 45 of Crocodile Rock – I think Elderberry Wine might have been the flipside, but I’m not sure. I’m not sure why I had it though, because I dont’ particularly ever remember especially liking that song all that much – maybe because like Honky Cat it seemed like it was about an animal? I dunno.

    I just remembered what my favorite EJohn song is though – it’s Madman Across The Water, from the album of the same name. Really haunting and weird. Maybe self-consciously so, but I always liked it as a youngin anyway. Haven’t heard it in ages though.

    And yeah, “Daniel.” bleh. please. no thanks.

  2. August 28, 2007 at 5:55 pm

    I don’t have “Madman Across the Water”– really, the only EJ record I owned was “Yellow Brick Road”– I inherited these other ones. These records I have are from 1972 to 1975– he put out two a year– crazy. I’m saving Yellow Brick Road for last, just because I still like that one, or maybe half of it– it’s kind of a nostalgia overload for me.

  3. 3 Danial Mcelyea
    March 26, 2013 at 4:45 am

    Enter stage left, Elton John, his flamboyant, often outrageous outfits, were overshadowed by his timeless musical talent and uninhibited taste for jewellery. A stylist, songwriter and outlandish showman, no one ever left a concert in disappointment. To have your jewellery in his radar is an honour and privilege. The perfect ambassador to glam rock he reckoned with his own ego traversing stages all over the world delighting audiences with his soulful music. Amongst his collaborators in the field of dress style, are, David Bowie Brian Ferry and the originator Marc Bolan.”

    Have a look at the most up-to-date post on our internet page
    <,http://www.caramoanpackage.com


Leave a Reply

You can type the name of the band you'd like to find in the box below and then hit "GO" and it will magically find all the posts about that band!!!

Blog Stats

  • 10,245 hits

a

Top Clicks

  • None
August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

