16
Jul
07

The Jam “In the City”

This was always my favorite Jam record, their first LP, from 1977– I like the cover, black and white photo of the band in a bathroom with spray-paint on the tile– and I like how high energy it is. I hadn’t listened to them in years and years, though, kind of afraid it would be another disappointment due to time and the memory. I’m surprised at how fresh this record sounds, though– not dated at all. Maybe some lyrics are, but that’s okay. “In the City” and “Art School” are still my favorites, but I’m surprised at how much I like the poppier songs now, “Sounds From the Street” and “Non-stop Dancing.” I guess the more R&B the song is, the more I like it– and the poppier it is, the more I like it– as opposed to when I was younger and liked the more punk stuff. They are angry, and also optimistic– and that’s nice– I don’t think I thought about that 30 years ago– but it somehow makes a lot of sense now.

2 Responses to “The Jam “In the City””


  1. 1 Kiki
    October 6, 2007 at 5:15 am

    Angry and optimistic is an apt description. The Jam were a great band, and so stylish. I wish I had seen them live. They were a bit before my time, perhaps. I’d like to be listening to “In the City” right now. Which song is it that rips off the guitar part from The Beatles’ “Tax Man”? And is it on this album?

  2. October 6, 2007 at 9:15 am

    Kiki, the song you’re thinking of is called “Start,” and it’s on their album called “Sound Affects”, which DJF hasn’t reviewed here, and is really the only Jam album I’m familiar with. That was a pretty cool song, but I always thought it was odd that they could get away with totally ripping off the Taxman bass part..


Leave a Reply

You can type the name of the band you'd like to find in the box below and then hit "GO" and it will magically find all the posts about that band!!!

Blog Stats

  • 9,800 hits

a

Top Clicks

  • None
July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

