04
Jul
07

The Gun Club “Miami”

This second record seems like it was ten years after the first (just because the first was such an EVENT for me), but it says it was 1982. It sounds a little cleaner, it’s a little less exciting, but still there are a lot of good songs: “Brother and Sister,” “Bad Indian,” and “Fire of Love” (which is a cover, a great song, and not to be confused with the TITLE of their first album, which does not contain a song by this title). Really, the only song I don’t like on this record is “Run Through the Jungle” which is– don’t be fooled by the lyrics– CCR’s train song.  Oh, this record also has a pretty awesome cover and back cover.

3 Responses to “The Gun Club “Miami””


  1. July 19, 2007 at 1:02 pm

    I almost think this is actually my favorite Gun Club album. You say it sounds a litle cleaner and a little less exciting, but to me it always sounded actually *rougher* than the first one, or at least a little more sloppily recorded, or something. The first album was definitely more of a “punk” album than this one, which has much more of a feel of blues or like old country or something to it. There’s a lot more songs that are kind of subtle than there were on the first, and I think Jeffrey Lee Pierce’s singing is both a bit more passionate on here, and also *way* more off-key more often! I actually kind of like their take on Run Through The Jungle, but then I’m a typical white guy who likes CCR.. The one song *I* really don’t like on this album is Watermellon Man, which to me almost seems like they were trying to write their own version of Run Through the Jungle – and it’s got JLPierce doing some kind of doofus scat-style singing in the middle of it too.. bleh. But altogether, this album really has a big MOOD to it, I think.. It’s far more melancholy than Fire of Love was, a lot more lonesome sounding. I think it’s great.

  2. July 20, 2007 at 5:30 pm

    That’s a good arguement for that album– just the fact of being more subtle can make something get overlooked. I’ll remember your comments when I listen to it in the future. It has the disadvantage, in my case, of coming after that first record which was SUCH A BIG DEAL to me. It’s like it could have been EXILE ON MAIN STREET and I woudn’t have liked it was much as the first one.

  3. July 24, 2007 at 7:22 am

    Yeah, I know what you mean. I think it was actually a few years after Fire of Love came out before I heard Miami, though, so I guess I was able to approach it a little more objectively maybe? I know for a long time all I had was a cassette tape of someone else’s copy of it, so it became a tape I would listen to a lot in the car – it was a good driving tape. A lot of kind of ‘lonesome road’ sorts of imagery or whatever..


Leave a Reply

You can type the name of the band you'd like to find in the box below and then hit "GO" and it will magically find all the posts about that band!!!

Blog Stats

  • 9,810 hits

a

Top Clicks

  • None
July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

