28
Jun
07

Genesis “A Trick of the Tail”

I know I liked this when I was 16, but now it’s just unbearable to listen to. It’s the first Genesis record without Peter Gabriel, which means it’s Phil Collins singing! His voice and my brain will forever clash.

2 Responses to “Genesis “A Trick of the Tail””


  1. June 28, 2007 at 8:14 pm

    boy, you really were into prog rock in hi-skule, weren’t you? I think all I ever ended up with was ELP’s Brain Salad Surgery and King Crimson’s first album. This is actually the only Genesis album I ever wanted to get, mostly because I remember hearing the title song on the radio and liking it for some reason. Fortunately I think I wised up before I ever made that mistake. Oh yeah, I also somehow wound up with a Kansas album too – The Point of No Return maybe? yeesh. Were they even prog? Were ELO considered prog? nah.. Jethro Tull?

  2. June 29, 2007 at 5:04 pm

    Yeah, before punk rock, this was it, Genesis, ELP, Yes, Pink Floyd, Jethro Tull, even Kansas. And the goofy German bands like Triumverat, and Nektar. I even bought Rush “2112”! The funny thing is that the music I listened to BEFORE I got into the pompous prog rock bands really holds up so much better, you know, stuff like early David Bowie, early Aerosmith, and even the bubblegum stuff like the Archies, and Tommy Roe. It’s like you get to this certain age, maybe it’s in high school, and you think you know so much more than when you were younger, and that’s kind of the first time you move away from your instincts.


Leave a Reply

You can type the name of the band you'd like to find in the box below and then hit "GO" and it will magically find all the posts about that band!!!

Blog Stats

  • 10,245 hits

a

Top Clicks

  • None
June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

