31
May
07

Gang of Four “Entertainment!”

As much as I liked this record in my memory, and I like it listening to it now, there was always something that felt cold to me about this band. Maybe it ‘s just the idea of Gang of Four, not actually the music. When I listen to it, some of the songs are amazing, like “Natural’s Not In It,” with some amazing guitar, and the same with “At Home He’s a Tourist.”  “I Found That Essence Rare” is a pop hit, or it should have been. Maybe it was. The only bad thing musically is when they pull out the dreaded melodica.

This record, from 1979, is an import, pressed in France, with a shiny red cover which is very familiar. I didn’t remember the inside sleeve, which is brown-green, with lyrics. I haven’t been inclined to listen to this over the years, but now after hearing it again, maybe I will.

4 Responses to “Gang of Four “Entertainment!””


  1. June 4, 2007 at 12:24 pm

    I like this album a lot – it was one of the records that my friend, Craig, brought back from Scotland with him when we visited relatives there for the summer in 1980, between our junior and senior years in hi-skule. It is kind of ‘cold’ like you say, which seems kind of strange because there is a lot of wildness to the playing throughout a lot of the record – but it’s also very much rhythmically controlled, which is maybe where the coldness comes in. Plus the fact that all the songs are self-consciously political rather than personal. It’s a really great record, but I like their second album, Solid Gold, better, probably because it’s kind of a darker, more depressing album.

    Oh, and I actually really like the melodica – it always makes me laugh when they use it!

    This is an album that I tend to go for long periods of time in between listens, but I dont’ think I’ve ever gone for longer than maybe a couple of years between listens. It’s one of those records that really doesn’t seem to have aged much at all over the years – it always sounds just as surprising and weird and interesting as it always has.

  2. June 8, 2007 at 3:33 pm

    I don’t know why, but whenever I hear someone playing a melodica I just want to SHOVE IT RIGHT UP THEIR ASS! Then say, “Okay, there you go. The melodica is now in its proper position. If you would like to play it now, have at it, mate!”

  3. June 11, 2007 at 11:34 am

    by the way, I said “we” went to Scotland, when I meant to say “HE” went to Scotland. I’ve never been there. I have been to England, but that was only a couple years ago.

  4. June 11, 2007 at 5:14 pm

    That’s funny, I’ve been to Scotland but not England. I was at the airport once, in England, only. What’s that airport, Stonesthrow? Hedgerow? Do you think it counts that you’re in a country if you were only in the airport? I don’t think so.
    BTW (by the way) just because I used the word “mate” doesn’t mean I’m English, I’m not, actually. I’m from Kokomo, Indiana, and that’s how we talk there.


Leave a Reply

You can type the name of the band you'd like to find in the box below and then hit "GO" and it will magically find all the posts about that band!!!

Blog Stats

  • 9,810 hits

a

Top Clicks

  • None
May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

