06
Apr
07

The Flesh Eaters “A Minute to Pray, A Second to Die”

I bought this record in 1981, when it came out, for my record store. I never heard of The Flesh Eaters. I was ordering records and called Slash Records in LA, and I THINK I was talking to Chris D., or a guy who led me to believe that’s who he was. He sold me on this record, I guess, which is the only Flesh Eaters record I’ve ever heard. This is Chris D’s band, which is essentially members of X and The Blasters, and heavy on sax and percussion. The songs are good, interesting, and ambitious, very repetitious and somewhat droning, with a lot of personality, particularly Chris D’s vocals.

This is one of those bands that’s really “good on paper” but I can’t figure out why I don’t like them more. That’s the musical question. Too over-determined, maybe. I mean, I like the record a lot, but it’s not one of my favorites. Plus, it’s a bit uneven. I love a few of the songs, and kind of never want to hear a few of them ever again. Also, it’s kind of interesting that while Chris D wrote all the songs but one, the one that John Doe wrote, “Cyrano de Berger’s Back,” is the best song on the album.

0 Responses to “The Flesh Eaters “A Minute to Pray, A Second to Die””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

You can type the name of the band you'd like to find in the box below and then hit "GO" and it will magically find all the posts about that band!!!

Blog Stats

  • 10,245 hits

a

Top Clicks

  • None
April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

