19
Dec
06

The Clash “Sandinista!”

1980 feels like the end of the world to me, and this feels like a post-Clash album. A lot of it is nearly unlistenable, sloppy noodling, but I would never get rid of this record, and every so often I listen to it all the way through, all six sides! My favorite way to think about it is: my friend Elissa said she thought there should be a tribute band called Sandinista! who just play the songs on this record. I imagine them playing it in order, maybe taking a break after every 12 songs, playing a regular night somewhere, doing the same songs in the same order week after week. I’d go every week! I’m sure a lot of other people would, too.

The song “Lose This Skin” struck me in an odd way—I think I heard it recently somewhere but I’m not sure where, like in a movie soundtrack. But I don’t know where. A few other really good songs: “The Leader,” “Kingston Advice,” and “The Street Parade.”

1 Response to “The Clash “Sandinista!””


  1. January 9, 2007 at 2:45 pm

    I feel like I ought to say something about this record, but I don’t know what. It just seemed too disco-y to me at the time somehow, even though really I guess it’s pretty reggae-ish moreso than discoish, but what did I know in 1980. I never liked it though for some reason. But as I’ve already mentioned, I was never that big of a Clash fan anyway. My friend at the time, Craig, liked it a lot though, I think because it *was* so outrageously ambitious and sprawling. I dunno.


Leave a Reply

You can type the name of the band you'd like to find in the box below and then hit "GO" and it will magically find all the posts about that band!!!

Blog Stats

  • 9,800 hits

a

Top Clicks

  • None
December 2006
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

