14
Nov
06

Blondie “Plastic Letters”

I liked the first album better, but I don’t have it anymore. This one is pretty good, still, before they got too slick with the next one with all the hits. I always thought “I’m on E” was about the KEY of E, but listening more closely, she says “E for England,” though the song is about cars on empty, but of course we all know it’s REALLY about “E.” Well, I saw them around 1980 or so and never forgave them for being boring. The back cover picture is great—they should have been called The 5 O’clock Shadows. It’s funny, because she is obviously bleached blonde, and the guys are so hairy, and her name is Harry. (That makes me think of ZZ Top, where the two guys have long beards and the guy without a beard is named Frank Beard.) Is it true that the band’s original name was Debbie Harry and the Hirsute Gentlemen? I read that somewhere.

2 Responses to “Blondie “Plastic Letters””


  1. November 15, 2006 at 9:28 am

    I was a *huge* Blondie fan when I was in hi-skule, and even sort of on into kollidge. And actually I still think that this album and Eat to the Beat are their best records. I’m not sure why I like this particular album of theirs so much, maybe because it was the first one of theirs that I had. It seems a little ‘deeper’ to me somehow than their first album, and as you say, it’s not as slick as the next album, Parallel Lines, which had “Heart of Glass” on it and was a huge hit.

    Your comments about the back cover are hilarious – yeah, they do all have heavy beards in that picture except for Debbie. They were really a pretty weird band in a lot of ways..

    I’m jealous that you got to see them in 1980, even if they were boring. I never got to see them until sometime in like the 90s when they had some kind of big comeback tour with the Ramones or something, and it was really pretty awful, I think. I actually can hardly remember anything about it other than just being there and feeling weird about seeing this old lady pretending to be the Debbie Harry I had a thing for as a hi-skooler.

    I haven’t listened to this album in a really long time, but I do actually still listen to Eat to the Beat occasionally.

  2. November 16, 2006 at 7:06 pm

    I can’t remember what year exactly I saw them, but they played with Nick Lowe, in Cleveland. There were guys with their tongues hanging out all around me. A guy even masturbated on my jean jacket. No, I’m confusing that with the time a guy PUKED on my jean jacket at a KANSAS concert.


Leave a Reply

You can type the name of the band you'd like to find in the box below and then hit "GO" and it will magically find all the posts about that band!!!

Blog Stats

  • 10,253 hits

a

Top Clicks

  • None
November 2006
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

