13
Nov
06

The Beach Boys “Endless Summer”

This double record feels like it just came out, rather than being 32 years old! Since it’s a collection of previously released songs from albums and singles, it kind of feels like a soulless CD collection. The songs are good, but as an object, or an artifact, it has no mystique.

1 Response to “The Beach Boys “Endless Summer””


  1. November 14, 2006 at 11:51 am

    I think my sister used to have this album for some reason. I don’t think I ever listened to it. I never really got into the Beach Boys as much as some people still do. I do like some of their stuff, but almost all of it is just way too slick and weird in a way that I don’t particularly like things to be weird in. You do have to admire people with bizarre visionary ideas of music like Brian Wilson, but you don’t necessarily have to like what they did. And yeah, this comp did seem really soulless. I think if my sister had had a pile of Beach Boys 45s I would probably have played them all the time.


Leave a Reply

You can type the name of the band you'd like to find in the box below and then hit "GO" and it will magically find all the posts about that band!!!

Blog Stats

  • 9,800 hits

a

Top Clicks

  • None
November 2006
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

