12
Nov
06

The B-52’s

I got this first B-52’s record when it came out in 1979– it sounded pretty unique, and still does. I love the back cover, just a big expanse of primary yellow with song titles in one corner. You’re never going to get that with a CD– the difference between album cover art and CD art is the same difference as looking at paintings in person or in an art history book. The sleeve has a great photo of the four string, crappy Mosrite guitar, the strap secured with duct tape. I was living in the dorm at the time, and people on the floor thought it was weirdo music, but by the early 80’s this record was being played endlessly at every frat party. It probably still is, and I still can’t really listen to it, due to it being overplayed. Maybe in ten or twenty more years I’ll put it on the turntable again.

1 Response to “The B-52’s”


  1. November 14, 2006 at 11:41 am

    I got this when it came out too – I can remember seeing them on Saturday Night Live back then, and thinking they were really great, and then going to school the following monday raving about them while everyone else was like, ‘what the hell was that retarded band on Saturday Night Live? That was the stupidest, dumbest band I’ve ever seen! Whey would they even be on tv?’, so I quickly stopped talking about them.

    It’s still a great record though, and still one of my alltime favorites really. I figured it was probably a frathouse favorite, but I never go to frat houses or anything, or ever hear anyone else ever play it, so I still get it out and play it every so often. My 14-year-old daughter likes it too, and why not? I don’t think there’s a bad song on this album.


Leave a Reply

You can type the name of the band you'd like to find in the box below and then hit "GO" and it will magically find all the posts about that band!!!

Blog Stats

  • 10,245 hits

a

Top Clicks

  • None
November 2006
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

